Rabbits and Bird’s Spit

On our recent outing to Vietnam, I decided to try some new dishes I’ve never consumed before.  One item that I can add to my bizarre food list is bunny.  Maybe that isn’t very odd to many, but I did drink something called Bird’s Nest.  The ingredients include fungus and bird’s nest.  What that meant I didn’t exactly know so I decided to some research today.  I came to find out that this drink’s main ingredient is actually the nest of a swallow bird or swift.  These birds regurgitate long, thin gelatinous strands from their salivary glands under their tongues.  These strands play an important role in making their special nests.  Oh yeah – it’s true, it’s true!
Leave a Reply

