Home Sweet Home For Now

I’ve been living in China for almost three years now, and I often get asked what I like about the Middle Kingdom.  There are so many things that I enjoy about living in China.  I am all about eating street food – especially sticks of lamb.  It’s fun to tell random people ni hao (hello) and watch them slowly smile as I pass them on my bike.  Little kids practicing their English on you is always entertaining.  "Hello.  Hello  How are you?  I’m fine, thank-you.  How are you?  I’m  fine, thank-you."  It can definitely be an adventure living in China, but from time to time I do miss livin’ in Indiana.  Sometimes though I actually get to experience a little of Indiana in Tianjin.  I’ve walked into stores playing the sounds of John Cougar Mellencamp.  I’ve shopped for DVDs and come across the basketball classic, Hoosiers.  I’ve seen Purdue University jackets and Colts ball caps for sale at rinky-dink vendors.  Just yesterday a smile came across my face when I saw a gentleman wearing an IU sweatshirt.  How that sweatshirt got over here I have no idea, but I think it was definitely for me.  Yes I miss my family and friends, drivin’ my Chevy Silverado to White Castles, and fishin’ for bluegill and bass, but I know this is where we’re supposed to be for now.
 
  
One thought on “Home Sweet Home For Now

Leave a Reply

