Bonding with Dad

Yesterday Megan went to Beijing to pick up some friends who are visiting us from Indiana, and I’ve been cold chillin’ in Tianjin with Grace.  Today Grace and I took a ten minute walk to KFC where daddy got his dinner.  When walking with Grace we usually avoid the fruit vendors because Grace gets rather upset if she can’t hold the fruit.  I decided to be a risk taker today though and purchase some bananas.  Grace passed with flying colors.  No screamin’ and cryin’.  PTL.  As I chomped on my Mexican wrap and cold fries at home, I popped in a Signing Times DVD for Grace.  When she realized what was on TV, Grace was so excited that I know we would have won 10,000 bucks on AFV had I been taping her.  These Signing Times DVDs are great.  I highly recommend them.  They teach American Sign Language to all kids in a fun and easy to comprehend way.  I’ve only watched the DVDs a few times, but I think my ASL is better than my Chinese now!  Of course I’m exaggerating, but that statement can be said of Grace.  She has picked up on a number of the signs, and it’s so cool.  She can’t say to us that her stomach is feeling a little empty, but she can sign it.  It’s amazing what kids can learn.  Grace’s oral skills are quite limited, but one of the words she says regularly is Amen.  I love that.  Makes me nearly cry.  Not much else to report.  Changed some stanky diapers, danced with my daughter to the tunes of Kirk Franklin, splashed water during bathtime, cleaned the mess Grace left behind after her meals, and read some Bible stories before hitting the sack.  God is good.  Amen.   
Leave a Reply

